About us

A little about our family….

My name is Alex and I am 39 years old, I have been with my partner for 23 years and his name is Danny. In 2012 we had our first child and his name is Vedder, then two years later we had our second beautiful boy Bodhi. We strive to live a healthy lifestyle, we have a dream to live off the land, grow organic healthy food and live in harmony with nature. We love to travel, meet new people and learn about new cultures as well discovering new foods! Our two boys love to be out in nature, they enjoy seeing wildlife in their natural habitat, playing in the ocean, surfing, boogey boarding and just being typical boys! We have always planned to follow the unschooling route in regards to their education and so far we are all enjoying the freedom it allows us.

I love to spend time growing and cooking food, what is better than stepping into your garden to collect your food for dinner? I love to read both fiction and non-fiction books. I have enjoyed being involved, in a small way, with the building of our house and getting involved with some of the practical jobs required. Hopefully, there will be much more in the future!

Dan loves to work with his hands, he enjoys working with wood and bamboo in particular. Dan has spent a lot of time reading about natural building tehniques, off grid energy harvesting among other subjects and has started putting some of that knowledge in to practise whilst building our house. He enjoys longboarding (on land) and prior to us leaving the UK started to build his own boards, customising them with his own designs. He also loves to surf and boogey board.

We like to live a natural life as much as possible, which means we try to avoid many mainstream brands when purchasing hygiene products, and where possible make our own. Since being in Nicaragua, we have found locating many products and ingredients within this area extremely hard. Hopefully we can be involved in making this easier.